Riot Games, starting in 2013, has released a number of special limited-time game modes. These special modes would usually be accessible for two weeks, then retired. In 2016, Riot announced that “Rotating Games Mode” would be a recurring event, so that every weekend a previously released game mode would be made accessible again for that weekend. The current game modes in the rotation are as follows:

  • Ascension, a 5v5 mode in which champions do battle on a modified Crystal Scar. In the middle resides the champion Xerath (a malevolent and powerful mage), who can be killed to temporarily ‘Ascend’ the killer, granting them increased size and stats. Teams score points by ‘Ascending’ their champions, scoring kills, and collecting Relics. The first team to 200 points wins.
  • Hexakill, a 6v6 mode on the Twisted Treeline. Because the Twisted Treeline is normally a 3v3 mode, the doubled number of champions adds a fast-paced and chaotic feel.
League of Legends Hexakill Wallpaper
  • One For All, a 5v5 mode on the Summoner’s Rift where each team can only pick one champion, e.g. all members of the same team must play the same champion. This leads to unique and fast-paced gameplay that cannot be replicated elsewhere, as having one champion synergize with 4 other versions of itself can often produce bizarre and overpowered results. Otherwise, all rules of the normal 5v5 Summoner’s Rift mode still apply.
League of Legends One For All Wallpaper
  • Nemesis Draft, a 5v5 mode on the Summoner’s Rift in which the two teams pick their opponent’s champions. This often leads to unconventional and ineffective team compositions that must work together to succeed. Otherwise, all rules of the normal 5v5 Summoner’s Rift mode still apply.
League of Legends Nemesis Draft
  • Nexus Siege, a 5v5 mode on the Summoner’s Rift, which has been cut in half at the river (only one base is open to attack). Each team takes turns defending and attacking the base, with the team that destroys the Nexus the quickest emerging victorious. Depending on whether one is defending or attacking, the team gains access to powerful siege weapons and tower upgrades that can turn the tide of battle, unique only to this mode.
League of Legends Nexus Siege Wallpaper
  • Legend of the Poro King, a 5v5 mode on the Howling Abyss. Unlike ARAM, players are allowed to select their champions, but are limited to two summoner spells: Poro Toss and To the King! Poro Toss allows the champion to throw a small arctic creature called a poro in a line, dealing damage to the first character struck. Once a team has successfully landed 10 Poros against the enemy team, they summon the Poro King, a massive creature that will help them push down the lane. The Poro King has his own abilities and can be fed a variety of Poro-Snax to grant him new ones. Otherwise, the goal remains to destroy the enemy’s Nexus.
League of Legends Legend of the Poro King
  • Doom Bots of Doom, a mode on the Summoner’s Rift. Five players play against five cpu opponents, which play as greatly enhanced versions of certain champions. The cpus’ champions’ abilities are greatly enhanced and are much harder to play around and against, making this mode a challenge even to skilled players. After 15 minutes, ‘The Evil Overlord of the Doom Bots’ (an enormous Teemo, a champion jokingly referred to as Satan due to his frustrating abilities, dressed as a devil) spawns and will make a last effort to destroy the team’s base. If they manage to survive the Doom Bots and their Overlord, then the team wins.
League of Legends Doom Bots of Doom
  • Hunt of the Blood Moon a 5v5 mode on the Summoner’s Rift. Players are limited in their champion choice to 20 Slayer and Fighter-type champions. Players start at level 3 and gains increased experience and gold over time, at a greater rate than normal modes. Champions additionally gain a variety of bonuses to encourage combat, such as increased movement speed and lower cooldowns on their ultimates and summoner spells, and can only buy offensive items. Minions do not spawn and turrets will periodically disappear to encourage frequent combat. Champions gain points by killing champions and Spirits of the Blood Moon, that roam the enemy jungle. Demon Heralds will additionally periodically spawn that grant a large amount of points. If a champion scores three kills in a row, they gain a special buff that heals them, renders them invisible, and grants them bonus true damage on their next attack. The first team to 350 points wins.
League of Legends Hunt of the Blood Moon

Special game modes not seen in the rotation include Black Market Brawlers (a 5v5 mode on the Summoner’s Rift with unique items and special minions) and Definitely Not Dominion (a temporary return of the Dominion mode on the Crystal Scar).

The Ultra Rapid Fire (urf) mode was originally a 2014 April Fools’ Day prank that proved so popular it became a proper rotating game mode; in urf, champion abilities have no resource cost and have their cooldowns reduced by 80%, double the normal cap of 40% that can be attained through items. Additionally, champions have increased movement speed, faster passive gold gain, and increased attack speed. Because some champions are naturally much more powerful in this mode because of how their kit works, this mode is not seen as much because it is difficult to balance.

League of Legends URF Mode Ultra Rapid Fire